Home > Uncategorized > Details of Brakes and Suspension

Details of Brakes and Suspension

Ok so I have stripped down the brake callipers and removed the front forks.  The internals of the brakes are so good I could have just bled them and replaced the fluid, even the pads are ok.

I am a little bit concerned about one of the front suspension tubes.  One of the crimps was a little tight and may have dented the tube.  You can see the mark in the middle of this photo.

The rest looks good.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Murray
    28/04/2010 at 9:55 pm

    I’m one of Tony’s riding mates and will follow this project with great interest because, apart from motorcycling, I’m also building a recreational aircraft kit and I’m keen to see what electric technologies may offer for that area.

    Great to see the details coming up on this blog.

    Cheers Murray

  2. 28/04/2010 at 10:43 pm

    Murray, I have a reader.. means I will have to keep this up to date 🙂

  3. John Morrow
    13/05/2010 at 11:00 pm

    Great photos Tony. Mark on fork tube looks just that to me, possibly clamp was loose at some time and marked the tube maybe even wore it a bit at that point?. Even so at that point all there is inside is the spring and a loose fit at that. I can only imagine the clamp bolt stripping before damage occurs to the tube, it’s pretty tough. I’d polish it and put it back.
    ps. I’m Murray’s father-in law. Can’t see his plane getting up with a load of batteries!

  4. 13/05/2010 at 11:32 pm

    John, thanks for the info. I did some polishing on them last weekend and came to the same conclusion.. then look straight and undamaged.

    Should have the rolling chassis up in a few weeks time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

