Home > Uncategorized > From Hero to Zero

From Hero to Zero

Burnt out motor

Burnt out motor

Ok so today on the way home I noticed the bike starting to make a strange “rough” sound. I backed off the throttle and got about 3 to 4 times the “regen” that I normally do. Once stopped the familiar smell of electrical burning and a small cloud of smoke wafted by.

So while saying a few choice words I pulled over and turned off the bike. Getting off I could see no new smoke and the motor was warm to the touch but not hot.
I pushed the bike about 10 meters all the way noticing that the motor was resisting the movement as if I had shorted the phase leads.

Now I know it could be motor or controller at this point, so I call the cavalry (my wife) and she came and got me with the trailer. I had to remove the chain so I could push the bike up the ramp.

I have just finished disconnecting the phase leads and pulling the motor out. The motor still resists turning so I am pretty sure the phases are shorted. Tomorrow I will pull off the casing of the motor, measure some resistances and try and find the short.

Looks like a might have to rewind the motor or replace it.

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. 18/11/2013 at 8:48 pm

    Oh bugger 😦 how rude…

  2. 18/11/2013 at 8:55 pm

    very rude. The windings have definitely shorted out… photos soon

  3. 19/11/2013 at 6:40 am

    Bummer! Hope you get it sorted.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

