Categories
Uncategorized

Repair Updates

Sorry it has been a while but I have been working hard on getting the bike up and running again.

I wanted to use the newer designed motor as a replacement, mainly to test the motor for the guys that designed it, but also to quieten some loud critics of these motors.

So got a new motor mount made

DSC_0043

Running the new motor however seemed quite difficult and hard to get smooth running from it.  I pulled the hall sensor board out and found that they were mounted backwards and at an angle, the best they could do is pick up the magnetic flux from the coils. No wonder the behaviour was so bad.

12418067085_53b2d7f9e8_z

So I created a replacement board and lined up the hall sensors as accurately as I could.

12455325925_b80f3f442e_z

The motor now runs quite well with all things working almost as good as the original.

I have also taken this opportunity to replace my Battery Monitoring System with a Battery Management System from zeva.com.au

DSC_0121

All in all I should be back on the road in a couple of weeks.

Leave a comment